Conklin talks Blues…

Our newest Blue spoke to Doyle Woody of The Anchorage Daily News about his recent signing with the Blues and career so far:

“It’s a young team, a pretty exciting team, an up-and-coming team, and one that played as well as anyone in the second half of the season,” Conklin said. “I’ve never heard a bad word about the organization, and I really wanted to stay in the Western Conference.”

“I’ve always been kind of a late bloomer,” Conklin said. “Sometimes, it takes a while to figure out how to play in this league. It’s kind of hard to blend in like a forward can or, to a lesser extent, a defenseman can. You’re either stopping the puck or your not.

“I think the biggest thing is I’ve played more games the last couple of seasons, and more consecutive games. It gives you a chance, when you’re not playing one game every three weeks and just trying to survive the first period.”

“Sometimes, money determines opportunity,” Conklin said. “Obviously, financially it’s a lot better, a step up from what I’ve made the last couple years.

“I know the great season Mason had last year. I don’t think they’re signing me to play 10 games. Hopefully, I’ll challenge for some ice time.”

Leave a Reply

